Press Release: Winners Announced at Inaugural ControlTrends Awards Luncheon

2012 ControlTrends Awards

DALLAS, TX February 1, 2013-, More than 150 HVAC and Automation Control executives gathered at the Control Trends Awards luncheon on Tuesday, January 29, 2013, to recognize and honor the finalists and winners of the 2012 Control Trend Awards (CTAs), a first-of-its-kind event established by the industry for the industry.
The Control Trends Awards recognize and honor leading companies, products, technologies and persons in specific categories from the Building Automation and HVAC Controls industry that are making a difference. Category nominees were selected by the Control Trends Academy, the 100-members plus global governing body and nominating committee with the winners selected by industry wide vote. The winners in each category represent the products and persons selected by the industry who are making an impact on their segment and are continuing to move the industry forward.
ControlTrends Awards
2012 Control Trend Award Winners:

Variable Frequency Drive of the Year 
Honeywell Smart VFD

Thermostat of the Year
 Viconics: VT7600 Series

Commercial Product of the Year: 
Belimo Energy Valve

Automation Graphic Tool of the Year
: DGLux by DGLogik

Building Energy Management Application
:Johnson Controls Panoptix

Building Automation Controller of the Year
: Easy IO-30P-SF

Vendor Technical Support Company of the Year: 

Building Automation System of the Year
: Vykon

Commercial HVAC Control Vendor of the Year: 

Most Valuable Support Person of the Year
:James Johnson, Vykon
 and Barry Gordon, ACI

Person of the Year Passion, Integrity, Dedication: 
Roger Rebennack, Honeywell

HVAC Executive of the Year: 
Chris Eichmann, Johnson Controls and 
Mike Keller, Honeywell

2012 ControlTrends Awards
Also at the awards ceremony, The Control Trends Academy introduced the addition of two prestigious annual award categories: the CTA Hall of Fame and the Petock Award. The CTA Hall of Fame recognizes an individual for their outstanding professional and community contributions; the Petock Award, named in honor of its namesake, Marc Petock, recognizes a person who demonstrates extraordinary passion and service to the industry.
The winner of the CTA Hall of Fame Award is Werner Buck, long-time executive with Belimo. The Petock Award was presented to Marc Petock of Lynxspring.

About the Control Trends Awards
Eric Stromquist of Stromquist & Company and Ken Smyers of Edward C. Smyers Company established the CTA Awards in June of 2012. The CTAs recognize the heroes and superstars of the HVAC, controlsand building automation Industry. There are twelve award categories with nominations and voting coming from the industry and overseen by an independent party. The CTA Awards program was released to the industry through Control Trends (


4 Responses

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Stay In The Know. Join The Control Trends Newsletter.

What Type of Content Would You Like to Receive?
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.